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The rules state… “When all swimmers are stationary, the starter shall give the starting signal” (101.1.2.c) and “Any 
swimmer starting before the starting signal is given shall be disqualified if the Referee independently observes and 
confirms the Starter’s observation” (101.1.3A). 

So what constitutes a false start?  These scenarios should help you paint the picture.  

FALSE START SCENARIO #1 
Swimmer leaves the set or stationary position prior to the starting signal.  The starting signal is then given. The race 
proceeds and, assuming the Starter observed the early start and the Deck Referee independently observes and confirms 
the Starter’s observation, the offending swimmer is disqualified at the conclusion of the race. Rule 101.1.3B applies. This 
is a false start. 
 

FALSE START SCENARIO #2 
Swimmer leaves the set or stationary position prior to the starting signal. The swimmer upon realizing the early starting 
motion attempts to catch himself/herself. Starter says absolutely nothing, and the swimmer fails to halt the forward 
motion and goes into the pool. Rule 101.1.3A applies. This is a false start. 
 

FALSE START SCENARIO #3 
Exactly the same facts as #2 above, but this time the Starter says “stand please” after the swimmer leaves the set or 
stationary position. The seven other swimmers stand or step down from the blocks. The offending swimmer struggles, 
but once again is unable to halt the forward motion and falls into the pool. Unlike scenario #2 above, here the starter 
said “stand please”,  but that does not change the false start result. The rule is clear that the "stand" command is for the 
benefit of the other swimmers on the starting blocks. When the stand command is issued, the athletes have the option 
of standing or stepping off the blocks. The offending swimmer did neither. He fell into the pool just like the swimmer in 
scenario #2. Rule 101.1.3A applies. This is a false start. 
 

FALSE START SCENARIO #4 
Exactly the same facts as scenarios #2 and #3 above. However, this time when the command “stand please” is issued, 
the offending swimmer struggles, but is able to stand or step off the blocks. Rule 101.1.3A applies. This is NOT a false 
start. Why? Because the swimmer remained on the blocks or deck like everyone else in the heat, and no starting signal 
ever sounded. 
 

FALSE START SCENARIO #5 
Exactly the same facts as scenarios #2 and #3 above. However, when the Starter gives the “stand please” command a 
swimmer(s) other than the offending swimmer instantly bolts from the blocks and enters the water. Rule 101.1.3D 
applies. The swimmer(s) clearly started in reaction to the” stand” command. This is NOT a false start. 
 

FALSE START SCENARIO #6 
The swimmer, upon hearing the command “take your mark” starts down to take a set or stationary position. The 
swimmer loses his/her balance before coming set and falls into the pool. Rule 101.1.2C applies. The swimmer should be 
given the opportunity to come to his/her set or stationary position prior to the start. A loss of balance prevented that, 
and clearly this swimmer never engaged in any starting action. This is NOT a false start. 
 


